About Us Register  Login
 

 

The Charleston Ocean Racing Association (CORA) was formed in 1967 and organizes and conducts yacht racing year round in Charleston's historic harbor and its offshore waters. The primary goal of CORA is to promote competitive sailing, to encourage good fellowship among yachtsmen, afloat and ashore, to assist yacht owner members to obtain competent and congenial crews, and to assist its non-yacht owning members to obtain desirable berths.

With this in mind we run over 30 races per year for boats generally 24 feet or larger.  We host a national marquee event annually in April, Charleston Race Week, with over 200 boats from across the country competing in our regatta.  We also have nine monthly meetings per year with a dinner presentation; and of course, we have great after-race parties!  You can get all these benefits for a modest $35 Associate Membership.  Come join our program.

COME TO A CORA MONTHLY MEETING  

They are held the third Thursday of every month, 6:30pm at the Charleston Yacht Club, except June, July and August when we race every Wednesday night and we have after-race awards ceremonies at the Charleston Yacht Club.

NEED A RIDE? NEED CREW?  

Click on the link and post what you are looking for on the Forums! Also post your name on the front page.

 

 

 
Executive Committee Contact Information

Questions?  Concerns?  Comments?  Contact us!

CORA Race Hotline:  (843) 259-CORA (2672)

 

Commodore
Crisp McDonald
crisp@goraceproductions.com
843-789-0631
Vice Commodore
Jeff Doyle
jdoyle0814@gmail.com
843-824-4672
Rear Commodore
Andy Guhl
aguhl@comcast.net
410-805-1749
Past Commodore
Patrick Chisum
pchisum@gmail.com
803-546-1953
Treasurer
Fran Boyd
fran.boyd7@gmail.com
843-509-0171
Secretary
Catie Yeager
catieyeager@gmail.com
251-895-2374
Measurer
John Lucas
melges245@me.com
843-224-3834
Historian
Dan Machowski
danmachowski@comcast.net
843-343-7141

 

 
Fleet Captains Contact

Each Class has a Captain that represents that fleet in decision making. 

Class Captain Email  
Alpha Ken King  kking0791@comcast.net   
Bravo Mike Palazzo   mike.palazzo@gmai.com  
Charlie Elliot Dodds  eldodds@comcast.net   
Delta John Springer  captainjohnspringer@gmail.com   
       

 

 

 
Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use Copyright (c) 2017 Charleston Ocean Racing Association